Sweet Briar College riding team claims fourth conference title

LYNCHBURG, Va. (WSET) -- The Sweet Briar College equestrian team has claimed the ODAC equestrian title for the second year in a row and fourth overall. "This is the Vixens' third title in the past five years, having won the championship in 1987, 2012, 2015, and now 2016," said Jennifer McManamay of Sweet Briar College.

The 2016 championships were hosted by Randolph College at the Randolph Riding Center on Friday afternoon. McManamay says this is the second straight year that Sweet Briar's director of riding, Mimi Wroten, was named ODAC Coach of the Year.

After the three rounds, Sweet Briar and Randolph were tied with 14 team points; McManamay says there was a ride-off to determine the champion. The top two riders from Sweet Briar and Randolph rode "course A" again and the average scores were added together to determine the winner.

  • Emily Schlosberg and Makayla Benjamin were the top-two average riders for the day, earning All-ODAC honors.
  • ODAC Rider & Rookie of the Year: Emily Schlosberg, Sweet Briar College
  • ODAC Coach of the Year: Mimi Wroten, Sweet Briar College
  • ODAC Rookie of the Year: Emily Schlosberg, Sweet Briar College
  • ODAC/Va. Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete: Renee Russell - Randolph College

ODAC Points Standings

  1. Sweet Briar^14 pts.
  2. Randolph14 pts.
  3. Washington & Lee11 pts.
  4. Lynchburg*10 pts.
  5. Hollins10 pts.
  6. Bridgewater7 pts.

Lynchburg was awarded fourth place based on a tiebreaker. The tiebreaker was combined totals of the two Jumps classes.

All-ODAC Riders

  1. Emily Schlosberg, SBC - 86.5
  2. Makayla Benjamin, SBC - 85.8125
  3. Meaghan Hynes, RAND - 85.625
  4. Caleigh Wells, W&L - 84
  5. Christina Antonucci, LC - 82.5
  6. Maddy Lohr, HU - 82.25
  7. Jane Chiavelli, W&L - 80.5
  8. Haley Ciriello, LC - 80.25
  9. Morgan Hoke, RAND - 79.875
  10. Katherine Powers, LC - 77.5

(Stats courtesy of Jennifer McManamay)

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off