New bill proposes more consequences for drivers who ignore the Move Over Law
RICHMOND, Va. (WSET) -- Virginia lawmakers are back at the capital for the 2019 legislative session that kicks off Wednesday.
Gov. Ralph Northam will issue his State of the Commonwealth at 7 p.m. in Richmond after the General Assembly convenes at noon.
They're tackling issues including everything from taxes, to gambling, and marijuana, but one proposal seeks to toughen Virginia's Move Over Law.
WWBT reported that Del. Chris Peace is sponsoring a bill after a firefighter was killed responding to an accident on I-295 when a tractor-trailer hit his fire engine.
The current law states that if you don't move over when you see emergency vehicles on the side of the road you can get a $250 fine.
House Bill 1911 proposes that anyone who fails to move over for an emergency vehicle will be charged with reckless driving, which comes with up to a year in jail and a $2,500 fine.
"It’s certainly reckless to disregard blatantly our first responders, our public safety personnel, our VDOT workers on the highway when they’re serving the public good,” Peace said.
Clark would also like to see young drivers who haven't even gotten their licences yet tested about moving over for emergency vehicles.