Local Delegates, mayor included in Northam's transition committee

FILE - In this Thursday Nov. 7, 2017, file photo, Virginia Gov.-elect Ralph Northam celebrates victory and addresses supporters and at the Northam For Governor election night party at George Mason University in Fairfax, Va. The Democrat's big wins in Virginia's elections last week weren't enough to gain control of the House of Delegates, and some say gerrymandering is to blame. (AP Photo/Cliff Owen, File)

ROANOKE, Va. (WSET) - Governor-elect Ralph Northam has named several people from our area as part of his transition committee.

“This bipartisan group of community leaders reflects the diversity that makes our Commonwealth a wonderful and inclusive place to live,” he said.

The people on his committee from our area include:

  • Kim Adkins, Marketing Director, Carter Bank & Trust, Martinsville
  • Jennifer Bowles, Vice Mayor, Martinsville City Council, Martinsville
  • The Honorable R. Creigh Deeds, Senate of Virginia, Bath County
  • Steven Gould, Member, City of Danville School Board, Danville
  • Mike Hamlar, President, Hamlar Enterprises, Roanoke
  • The Honorable Sherman P. Lea, Sr., Mayor, City of Roanoke, Roanoke
  • The Honorable Sam Rasoul, House of Delegates, Roanoke City
  • The Honorable Shannon Valentine, Former Member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Lynchburg

“I am honored to have the help of such a great group of Virginians as we build an administration that reflects Virginia and takes our Commonwealth to the next level. We have a tremendous opportunity over the next four years to make a positive difference in the lives of Virginians, and to create opportunity for every Virginian, no matter who you are, no matter where you live. I look forward to hitting the ground running to do just that," Northam said.

To see the list of the full transition committee, click here.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off