Locals Honored At Lynchburg Humanitarian Awards

Lynchburg, VA - Five Lynchburg men and women involved in everything from the YWCA to Amazement Square were honored Wednesday night at Lynchburg College with a banquet sponsored by the Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities. The Lynchburg Chapter of the group puts on the annual Humanitarian Awards, where honors are presented to men and women, who have demonstrated a commitment to the promotion of respect and understanding among people of diverse racial, ethnic, and religious backgrounds. "There are so many things that go on nowadays to divide us, so many little niches that people try to be shoved into, and we teach people how to talk, how to dialogue, and give them the tools and action plans for them to go out and fix their communities" said Charlie Boyd, a 2014 award recipient. The 2014 Lynchburg Humanitarian Award Recipients: Carolyn W. Bell: Dr. Bell retired as Susan Duval Adams professor of English at Randolph-Macon Women's College. Motivated by a belief that service is essential to a truly abundant life, she currently serves as vice president and chair of the board of the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and board member of the Central Virginia YWCA. Past community service with the Legacy Project, the Old City Cemetery, and Friends of Tinbridge Hill demonstrates her ongoing commitment to inclusion. Charlie C. Boyd, Jr.: Mr. Boyd is the ES&H/HPI Coordinator with Babcock & Wilcox Nuclear Operations Group. His past board service includes the Women's Resource Center, the Virginia School of the Arts, and the Central Virginia Achiever's Program. Mr. Boyd is dedicated to helping bring inclusion to the Lynchburg community. He is a 20-year volunteer with Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities programs, having facilitated at countless high school and college retreat programs for local schools and across the Commonwealth. David B. Neumeyer: Mr. Neumeyer ensures access to justice, the arts and humanities, and non-profit excellence through his professional and personal service. He is Executive Director of the Virginia Legal Aid Society. His volunteer activities have included chairing the boards of directors of Lynchburg Daily Bread, and the Council of United Way Agencies. Mr. Neumeyer is the founding board president for Opera on the James, the James River Council for the Arts and Humanities, and the Central Virginia Academy for Nonprofit Excellence. Diane M. Walker: Now retired, psychologist and educator Diane Walker initiated child-specific therapies and services for children at the Mental Health Clinic of the Community Services Board. Dr. Walker was instrumental in creating the Child Sexual Assault Task Force, the Crisis Line of Central Virginia, and the development of Amazement Square with the Junior League of Lynchburg. She lives her belief that human health is nurtured in inclusive community. Gloria T. Witt: Ms. Witt continues to build people, even after retiring from her role as Director of People Development at AREVA. She is a trained facilitator for the Lynchburg Community Dialogue on Race and Racism. She has also served her community through the Boys and Girls Club of Greater Lynchburg, Lynchburg's Partners In Education, and the Interfaith Outreach Association. Ms. Witt is also past president of Women in Nuclear.
close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off