Southside Teachers Get More than $114,000 in Grants

Danville, VA - A big boost for teachers on the Southside. Monday afternoon the Danville- Pittsylvania County Chamber of Commerce awarded more than $114 thousand in education grants.

Teachers submitted applications and twelve proposals were selected to receive grants as high as $13 thousand. The projects range from integrating technology like iPads and tablets into the classroom, to funding for robotics teams.

The grant funding comes from Chamber and Goodyear fundraising events as well as the Danville Regional Foundation.

Here is a closer look at the grant awards:

"Team Talon's FIRST Robotics Summer Camp"

Daniel Waters and John Henderson

George Washington High School


"iPads for Advanced Learning"

Debbie Rojas and Ashley Lackey

Forest Hills Elementary School


"Smart Table 442i Collaboration Center"

Paula Faison, Beth Putnam, Sonja Scott, Elizabeth Bailess

Gretna Elementary School


"Transforming Literacy Through Technology"

Carlene Bailey

Brosville Elementary School


"'App'-etite for iPads"

Mindy Takacs and Tamela Warren

Union Hall Elementary School


"Virtual iPad Cart"

Melissa Cassell, Christopher Gee, Kelly Merricks, Jessica Dalton, Elizabeth Kirby

Dan River High High School


"Necessity is the Mother of Invention"

Kathy Grantier

Bonner Middle School


"Preparing Today's Students for Tomorrow's World with Technology"

Kathy Boucher

North Elementary School


"Adding a Personal Touch to Learning"

David Hammack and Shannon Louhoff

Stony Mill Elementary School


"Integration of Tablets into the Science Classroom"

Jason Gibson and Lisa Fain

Galileo High School


"FIRST Robotics Team #1095 (RoboCavs)"

Stephanie O'Bien, Tom Wade, J.L. Clayton

Chatham High School


"GW Team Talon FIRST Robotics Team"

Dan Waters

George Washington High School


The Board of Directors and the Education Committee of the Danville Pittsylvania County Chamber of Commerce would like to thank The Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co., the Danville Regional Foundation, and everyone involved with the teacher creativity grant process for making the 2013 -2014 grant projects possible.