Porter Abell Named Region 3 Player of the Year

Rockbridge County quarterback Porter Abell has been voted Region 3 Player of the Year by Region 3 coaches.
Abell, who guided the Wildcats to Friday's region championship game against Brookville, is a Co-First Team quarterback along with the Bees' Kendall BeCraft. Both are Football Friday Player of the Year finalists, along with JeVontae Parrish of Heritage, named first team Region 3 in the athlete category.
Other area players earning First Team Region 3 honors are Curtis Fridley of Rockbridge, Andrew Williams of Lord Botetourt, Josh Mason of Brookville, I'Shantii Rosser of Heritage and Hilson Atkins of Brookville.
Also Harold Buckner of Northside, Chris Thompson of Botetourt, Randall Jones of Rustburg and Alan Gutierrez of Brookville.