New Moped Laws Take Effect State-Wide July 1
Richmond, VA - Changes in moped laws are about to take place state-wide beginning July 1.
The new Virginia law will require every moped driver to carry a government-issued photo ID, though the ID does not have to be a driver's license.
Every driver and passenger also must wear a helmet while riding a moped. Drivers must also wear a face shield, safety glasses or goggles, unless the moped has a windshield.
Virginia law also requires mopeds operated on Virginia roadways to be titled and registered by July 1, 2014, but moped owners can actually start the process this summer. The DMV will begin titling and registering mopeds on July 1 of this year.
A moped title is $10. The annual registration fee is $20.25.
The changes come after a study at the request of General Assembly. The DMV established an ongoing work group to study a number of non-conventional vehicles including mopeds.
According to the Non-Conventional Vehicles Study, the number of mopeds on Virginia roads has increased significantly as a result of the rising cost of gas, along with the affordability and availability of mopeds.
Under current law, the lack of any identifying information on a moped makes them nearly impossible to recover after theft and complicates identification of the vehicle and operator in the event of a crash.
Statistics show that over the past five years, there have been 2,062 crashes involving mopeds in Virginia. Of the crashes, 31 of them resulted in fatalities. Nearly all of the crashes, 1,967, resulted in injuries.