Football Friday Announces the 20 on the Player of the Year Watch List

      The ABC 13 Football Friday staff has voted and compiled its list of 20 players up for consideration for the prestigious Football Friday Player of the Year Award.

      Over the past three years former candidates included:

      2010: Anthony Reynolds - Liberty (winner), Meech Coles- Staunton River, and Nick Miller - Gretna

      2011: Harvey Taylor - Magna Vista (winner), Trey Edmunds - Dan River, and Josh Wilson - Appomattox

      2012: Kendall BeCraft - Brookville (winner), Porter Abell - Rockbridge Co., and JeVontae Parrish - Heritage

      Below is the alphabetical list of 20 players who have set themselves apart from the rest. This list will be narrowed down to ten finalists later this week. Those ten will be announced during the November 1st episode of Football Friday that airs at 11:15 p.m.

      Kendall Blankenship- Appomattox

      Hunter Byrnes-G.W. Danville

      Ryan Crist - Jefferson Forest

      Ryheem Dawson- Parry McCluer

      Dominic Dunnaville- Northside

      Terrell Edmunds- Dan River

      B.J. Farrow-LCA

      Austin Fitzgerald - Heritage

      Frankie Hickson- Heritage

      Zac Hill-William Byrd

      Ben Hogg - Brookville

      Randall Jones-Rustburg

      Matt Lewis-LCA

      Anthony Lovelace - Rustburg

      Donnie Morgan - E.C. Glass

      Dyon Rosser- Gretna

      Matt Smith-Liberty

      Shy Smith - Chatham

      Chris Thompson- Lord Botetourt

      Juan Thornhill- Altavista