E.C. Glass Edges Brookville for Seminole Crown

E.C. Glass beat Brookville for the third time this season to claim the Seminole District Tournament championship.

The Hilltoppers (20-4) took the first two sets but watched the Bees (17-4) win the third and fourth set before finally closing them out in the 5th and final set (25-20, 25-19, 19-225, 25-27, 16-14).

Paige Riley, named District Player of the Year, had 46 assists for Glass. Sarah Thomas had 19 kills, 10 blocks and 13 digs. Alyssa Morris added 8 kills and 6 blocks.

Brookville's Morgan Bruce had 43 digs. Leah Porter added 17 digs and 41 assists.

Rustburg won the consolation match over Jefferson Forest to earn a regional berth.

All three regional qualifiers are expected to Tuesday night. Brookville will play at Northside at 7 p.m. The other two matches are still to be determined.

2012 Seminole District

All-District Volleyball

First Team: Second Team:

Paige Riley - EC Glass Alex Goldman - Amherst Co.

Kaily Weiss - Brookville Cristina Good - EC Glass

Sarah Thomas - EC Glass Emma Dixon-Tract - Amherst Co.

Jasmine Callahan - JF Lauren Swan - Brookville

Taylor Phillips - Rustburg Morgan Bruce - Brookville

Jordan Pfau - Brookville Katherine George - EC Glass

Brie Miller - Rustburg Ali Johnson - EC Glass

Leah Porter - Brookville Katie Wilson - Heritage

Sarah Downs - JF Taylor Tibbs - JF

Honorable Mention:

Jasmine Brogdon - Heritage

Chelsea Sadler - Heritage Player of the Year:

Cassie Maddox - Amherst Co. Paige Riley - EC Glass

Cassidy Hensley - Liberty

Ryan Martin - JF Coach of the Year:

Skyler Wood - Rustburg Jennifer Hall - Amherst Co.

Alyssa Morris - EC Glass