Carter's Call for May 1, 2012

Congratulations to Lynchburg College baseball. For the first time in 22 years, the Hornets can call themselves ODAC champions after beating Bridgewater 2-1 in the tournament championship game.

The Hornets won all four of their games in four days to capture the title. Lynchburg's pitching was phenomenal to say the least. L.C. allowed just THREE RUNS THE ENTIRE TOURNAMENT, less than one run a game. Robert Garrett opened the tourney with a complete game 8-1 victory on the mound, then closed it Sunday with another complete game 2-1 win.

For his efforts, the senior earned the ODAC Tournament Most Outstanding Player Award and improved his record to 8--0 on the season.

Now Lynchburg has a bit of a breather. The 34-and-8 Hornets won't find out who they're playing in the NCAA Tournament regional round until a week from Sunday, May 13th.

Five Hornets made the All-ODAC Tournament team:

Robert Garrett - Pitcher

Brandon Miller - Pitcher

Dustin Arrowood - First Base

Dan Savage - Third Base

Michael Kenah - Shortstop

The Lynchburg College men's lacrosse team will try and make it two ODAC titles in a week for LC when the Hornets host Washington & Lee. That's a one o'clock game Sunday, May 6th, at LC's Shellenberger Field.

The Lynchburg Hillcats are currently sitting in first place in the Carolina League's Northern Division. They did just lose their top power hitter as catcher Evan Gattis was called up to Double-A Mississippi.

Soccer fans, the E.C. Glass/Jefferson Forest girls rematch is this Wednesday night at JF. Glass won their first meeting, the Hilltopppers would love to sweep the series and keep their perfect record intact.

Pro baseball, Lynchburg's Brandon Inge didn't need long to find a new playing home. Inge signed a deal with the Oakland A's Monday and went 1-for-3 with a walk in his first at-bats Monday night.

And the annual Fox-Puss Invitational is May 4-6 at Lynchburg's Boonsboro Country Club. Defending champ for the event is Ben Lasso. Martinsville's Keith Decker is a five-time champ, his last win in the Fox-Puss came five years ago in 2007.