Brookville Bees Win State Title...Again

Lynchburg, VA - For the second year in a row the Brookville Bees are football state champions. They won the Division Three championship 24-14 over James Monroe.

Football Friday Player of the Year Kendall BeCraft threw two touchdowns and Anthony Calloway's 63-yard touchdown run proved to be the difference in a rematch of last year's title game.

The game was scoreless until the second quarter when both teams reached the endzone. Benjamin Hogg's touchdown catch put the Bees up 14-7 at the half.

James Monroe quarterback Jay Scroggins finished 10 of 22 passing for 159 yards, one touchdown and one interception. Scroggins was forced into the position after both the first-string and second-string QBs both went down with injuries.

Brookville outgained James Monroe 384 to 278 in total yards.

BeCraft finished 10 of 16 passing for 136 yards and two touchdowns.

Calloway totaled 123 yards on 12 carries.

Justin Feldkamp and Dennis Carter will have complete coverage of this game on ABC 13 News at 6 and 11 p.m. Saturday.